by LoriAnn

I had a great birthday! I got a library’s worth of books, some specifically for my birthday and others in well-timed care packages. Some are print, some eBooks, and some audio. I’m enjoying them all! More details on the MamaWit Bookshelf and at the end of this post.

Also for my birthday, we enjoyed a new tradition of baking my cake together the night before. My birthday pick was the Applesauce Spice Bread in a round cake pan, sprinkled with powdered sugar! Baba cooked lunch & dinner, my favorite: Thai food! (I’ll let you know if he posts the recipe online… he’s working on writing a blog about life in China!) And, Tigger napped well several times, so I got lots of chances to enjoy a bunch of magazines sent by my aunt plus my new books: in paper, via my iPod speakers, and on the iPod touch Kindle reader!

I guess I won’t need any new books for awhile… oh, but wait, I just used my birthday money to order two more!… and then I downloaded 6 limited-time freebies onto my Kindle for Mac reader… well, what can I say; I love to read!

Click to read more if you’d like to see the (huge!!) list of books I got; one’s available for free on any Kindle reader! There’s also a note at the end about joining me for a group book study online, for any Mamas who are interested in growing in their Motherhood.

paperbacks:

How to Cook Without a Book by Pam Anderson
Where Water Begins by John Stone
Animal Farm by George Orwell (but my used copy is from 1946! how cool!)
My Monastery is a Minivan by Denise Roy
If These Walls Had Ears by James Morgan
The Thread that Runs So True by Jesse Stuart
Creative Correction by Lisa Whelchel (this one walked in the door, well, Baba carried it, as I was typing this post!)

ebooks: (note: many of these Baba found for free on iBooks for the iPod/iPhone/iPad!)

Mission of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson <see note about a group online study at end!!>
Discovering Soul Care by Mindy Caliguire
How I Know God Answers Prayer by Rosalind Goforth
Things as They Are by Amy Carmichael
Separation and Service by Hudson Taylor
Union and Communion by Hudson Taylor
A Ribband of Blue by Hudson Taylor
A Short Method of Prayer by Madame Guyon
Letters of Madam Guyon
The Autobiography of Madam Guyon (*free*)
Faithful Women & Their Extraordinary God by Noël Piper

audiobook (Baba got this one for free with a trial of Audible!):

The Hiding Place by Corrie ten Boom

Online Book Study Note:

I started Mission of Motherhood by Sally Clarkson, but realized it’s design with questions at the end of each chapter is perfect for a group study. Anyone else want to buy the book (or find it at your library!) and join in an online book study?

