Kat from KatManDew Designs is giving away a Turquoise Mama Nursing Necklace to one lucky MamaWit reader at the end of September!
Find out how to enter all throughout the month.

by Lori Ann

Bookshelves Filled

before

full shelves

after (now)

I’ve been thinking about the word “full” a lot lately. It can mean so much:

  • “Ugh, my schedule’s really full… mind if I take a raincheck tonight? I really need to catch up in work…”
  • “My life is so full… I have a dear husband, a precious child, and rewarding experiences to fill my days.”

In the past, I only saw the first option. To have your days full, like to have your shelves full, was clutter. Distractions. Busy-ness. Something I wanted to avoid. I liked simplicity, squeaky clean and very neat. An orderly day’s schedule and a checklist with everything checked off.

But, as my days have gotten fuller… playing with Tigger, changing diapers, nursing, visiting children in nearby villages, doing laundry and dishes… I’ve often glanced at this bookshelf in a central area of our home. Like my days, it has grown much fuller over the past year. Parenting books, photographs, cards, and storybooks overfill the shelves. But something about it always makes me smile. It makes my life feel so full! Happy memories of a childhood in a home brimming with children. Always something going on, someone to play with. Full. And very happy about it.

Does your life feel full? Has it gotten more full over the years, and how do you feel about it? Is it chaos, or is it complete (one of the dictionary’s definitions)?

