by Lori Ann

I was so prepared. I planned carefully. Made arrangements. Scheduled ahead. And then things fell apart.

China Chopstick Baby

I’m so sorry I haven’t been blogging! Especially with regards to not announcing the contest winner! Because this is my blog and some of you are interested in my personal life, here’s an explanation that isn’t intended to be an excuse…

A little over a month ago, we left town for an agricultural expo that turned out to have very little to do with agriculture but was fun anyway. The day after it we left for a 9-hour train to a conference and to see friends. It lasted a week, and we returned home via the same train. We were tired, but I’d pre-posted a bunch of stuff for everyone to read so I didn’t need to rush back to the computer.

But… when we came home, we didn’t have internet. We called the company. It was out in our whole neighborhood. We’d wanted to switch services anyway, so after a few days without we called the new company. A couple of government holidays both fell in the next week, so they were busy but promised to come soon. Soon ended up being over two weeks later.

We’ve had it back a little while now, but it’s taken me awhile to catch up on everything. It’s not just that, though… in that month without internet, I enjoyed my family a lot more than before. When Tigger went to bed, we couldn’t just jump on Facebook, so we played board games, read together, and baked cookies. When Tigger was awake, nothing popped in my head that I needed to “just look up really quick,” so I had more energy to focus on her.

I plan to ease back into blogging here, and have some ideas in my head (like announcing the winner, who was just determined by a random comment number generator, but I want it to be a separate post so I’m not telling yet :-D), but just wanted to explain the delay and say that yes, I am still here.

What have YOU been doing this last month?